California’s Golden Poppy Super Bloom

The hills are alive in Southern California in a way that even California natives like myself have never witnessed. So far, 2019 has proven to be unseasonably rainy. I’m fairly certain that we’ve hit our yearly average just in the first two months of the year, which I don’t think has ever happened in my lifetime. The upside to two months of almost constant rain (that could honestly rival the Pacific Northwest) is that Southern California is a beautiful shade of vibrant green at the moment. And if you know where to look, you can find rolling green hills absolutely covered in Golden Poppies.

Poppy 2
Green hills and golden poppies, a rare sight in Southern California.

There are several great spots to experiences the golden poppy super bloom for yourself. Lake Elsinore’s Walker Canyon Ecological Reserve is perfect for anyone in Los Angeles, Orange County, and the Inland Empire hoping to get a closer look at the beautiful wildflowers. Located just off the 15 freeway, the Walker Canyon Trail is probably the easiest and most accessible place to start your way up the hills. The initial hike up was a bit steep but manageable; there were dozens of people of all ages and abilities making the climb and stopping to admire the poppies along the way. The trail quickly evens out and the majority of the people stopped at that point. But if you keep walking just a little bit further, you will find fields of poppies without the crowds.

Poppy 8

Poppy 4

I have to say, the poppies are definitely worth the hike and the crowds. I wasn’t expecting much when I set out that morning, but I was absolutely blown away by the vibrant colors and abundance of wildflowers. Living in between the coast and desert means the scenery tends to be dry, dull and brown so to see such a colorful landscape in my own backyard was a delight.

Poppy 7
Did you know that the Golden Poppy has been the California State flower since 1903.

Poppy 9

With more rain on the forecast (sigh), it looks like the poppies will be around throughout the springtime. If you happen to be in Southern California in the next couple of months, I recommend taking the short trip out to see the poppies. Other popular destinations for different wildflowers in the area include the Antelope Valley California Poppy Reserve, the Laguna Coast Wilderness Park, and Anza Borrego Desert State Park. I’m hoping to catch the wildflower super bloom in the Anza Borrego Desert before they disappear.

Poppy6
When admiring the flowers, be careful to preserve the poppies for others.

Poppy1

I’m so glad I was fortunate enough to experience the beauty of the golden poppies for myself. As my love of nature and travel continues to bloom, I’m finding that sometimes adventure is waiting for me in my own backyard.

Until next time,

Tiff

Let’s be friends!

Twitter // Instagram // Pinterest

4 thoughts on “California’s Golden Poppy Super Bloom

  1. Once again I’m blown away by your ability to share what you experience. Your writing alone enables one to envision the moment.

    Thanks for taking me along on this journey!

    Like

Leave a comment